Holidays on Sri Lanka

Home | Visas | Property |  Links |  Privacy Policy |  Sitemap |  Contact Us |  Sri Lanka Brochures

Free Online Travel Magazine

Sri Lankan News and Newspapers


Sri Lanka Provinces, Districts and Secretariats.

Sri Lanka is divided into 9 provinces,
further divided into 25 districts.

Each of Sri Lanka's provinces is administered by a directly-elected provincial council.

The Western Province (Orange) capital is Colombo and divided into the districts of Colombo, Gampaha and Kaluthara.

The Central Province (Pink) capital is Kandy and divided into the districts of Kandy, Matale and Nuwara Eliya.

The North Central Province (Cream) capital is Anuradhapura and divided into the districts of Anuradhapura and Polonnaruwa.

The Northern Province (Salmon Pink) capital is Jaffna and divided into the districts of Jaffna, Kilinochchi, Mannar, Vavuniya and Mullativu.

The Eastern Province (Dark Green) capital is Trincomalee and divided into the districts of Ampara, Batticaloa and Trincomalee.

The North Western Province (Blue) capital is Kurunegala and divided into the districts of Kurunagala and Puttalam.

The Southern Province capital (Light Green) is Galle and divided into the districts of Galle, Hambanthota and Matara.

The Uva Province capital (Sky Blue) is Badulla and divided into the districts of Badulla and Monaragala.

The Sabaragamuwa Province (Dark Pink) capital is Ratnapura and divided into the districts of Kegalle and Rathnapura.

The 25 districts are further subdivided into divisional secretariats, and these in turn to nearly 14,000 *Grama Sevaka Divisions.

*No translation available yet.

We apologise for the repetition of some place or proper names with different spellings, but there is no definitive spelling translation of these words.

We welcome reviews of any Sri Lanka resorts, hotels or visitor attractions. Please see our contributing writer's guidelines.


The conflict between the Government and the Liberation Tigers of Tamil Eelam (LTTE, commonly known as “the Tamil Tigers”) ended in May 2009. Although the conflict is over, the LTTE are believed to retain some capability to mount terrorist attacks such as grenade or explosive device attacks and shootings. The Government has relaxed the State of Emergency, under which it has extensive anti-terrorism powers but there are still heightened levels of security (e.g. checkpoints, road blocks) throughout the country. You should exercise a high level of vigilance. The risk for the most part is one of being caught in the wrong place at the wrong time. In order to minimise this, you should avoid military, government and paramilitary locations. Always carry formal photographic identification with you. Stop and show your ID when asked to do so. If you are detained, you should ask the authorities to contact the British High Commission.

Fatal attacks linked to the LTTE occurred throughout the country into 2009. Most attacks have been directed against Government and military targets though a number have been focussed on civilian targets such as crowded public places, public transport and market areas. Some of the most significant attacks included a suicide bomb at a political gathering in March 2009 and an air raid on military targets in Colombo in February 2009. statement - 15 October 2008 - Quote from the British Foreign and Commonwealth Office website: "There is a high threat from terrorism in Sri Lanka. Fatal attacks have become more frequent. They have occurred in Colombo and throughout Sri Lanka, including places frequented by expatriate and foreign travellers. Further attacks may occur at any time. There is an increasing risk of British nationals being caught up in an attack". As independent travellers we left Colombo after just 9 days into our planned 6 month stay as a result of a feeling of insecurity, however we are sure that 'package tour' travellers to tourist resorts will probably enjoy a worry free holiday.

Where is Sri Lanka? - Just off the south-east coast of India. - Location Map for Sri Lanka
















Nuwara Eliya




Sigiriya Rock

Sri Jaya'pura


National Parks, Reserves and Protected Areas

Sample 10 day Sri Lanka Tour

Contributing Writer's Guidelines


Owned & Operated By:   ©Copyright 2008 to 2011, All rights reserved